Header Ads Widget

The senses of Scripture

The senses of Scripture 

According to an ancient tradition, one can distinguish between two senses of Scripture: the literal and the spiritual, the latter being subdivided into the allegorical, moral, and anagogical senses.

The profound concordance of the four senses guarantees all its richness to the living reading of Scripture in the Church. The literal sense is the meaning conveyed by the words of Scripture and discovered by exegesis, following the rules of sound interpretation. 

All other senses of Sacred Scripture are based on the literal.

Sharing is caringđź’“

Post a Comment